President’s Message
The American Association of University Women (AAUW) is a nationwide network of more than 170,000 members and supporters, as well as 1,000 branches and 800 college/university partners. Since 1881 AAUW members have examined and taken positions on the fundamental issues of the day, educational, social, economic, and political. AAUW’s mission is to advance equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy, and research.
Our Howard County Branch, committed to AAUW’s mission, focuses primarily on educational issues and professional development for women. We have partnerships with local colleges and collaborate with local businesses and legislators to promote programs that encourage women and girls’ interest in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM). For many years we have served the community by raising funds to provide over $30,000 in scholarships to non-traditional women pursuing degrees at Howard Community College, primarily in a STEM field.
We volunteer at area organizations, enjoy social events and special interest group activities, listen to informative speakers at branch meetings, donate to women’s causes, and participate in fundraising such as our fashion show and honorary tea. We produce a branch newsletter, which keeps us informed about National and State AAUW activities, other Maryland women’s group events, and issues relative to our current interests. We have opportunities for networking and developing personal friendships as well as professional contacts. These ongoing activities have spanned over 50 years with a membership of nearly 60 women. learn more.
We invite you to peruse our website and if you are interested in joining a dynamic, talented, professional group of women, please complete the online membership application or print and mail the form in our brochure on our website at https://howardcounty-md.aauw.net.
Beth Hayden
OfficersPresident: Beth Hayden; Finance Officer: Bea Dane; Programs: Susan Hailman; Meetings/Social: Bobbie Brooks and Carol Phelps; Education: Cindy Graham; Public Policy: Barb Carter; Communications: Diane Roca; Membership/Diversity: Suzanne Soules; Secretary: Jean Parr